After you created an Email Template and have put a lot of time and effort in configuring and designing each of the blocks, you don’t want to lose all that work if you accidentally delete the template or if you delete the blocks that you painstakingly created. Trust us, we’ve done this many times!
To prevent this from happening, Klaviyo has the “Saved Blocks” feature so that you can save the block and all the configurations and options that you have completed. Klaviyo allows you to save each of your blocks and reuse them in any email template with the Klaviyo editor.
Saving the Block
To save the block you need to click on it, and on the left side of the block you should see three options appear.
Click on the “Star” to save the block.
In the pop-up that will appear, name your block and click on the “Save Block” button. Try to use consistent naming conventions so that they are easy to find in the future. We recommend using the “type of the block” as the prefix of the name.
Here are some examples we recommend:
- Image: img_ (e.g. img_hero, img_lifestyle-1, etc.)
- Text: txt_ (e.g. txt_headline, txt_sub-headline, txt_link, txt_font, etc.)
- Buttons: btn_ (e.g. btn_primary, btn_secondary, btn_shop-now, etc.)
- Header/Link Bar: header_ or linkbar_ (header_nav-bar, header_desktop, header_mobile, linkbar_footer, etc.)
- Social Links: social_ (e.g. social_desktop, social_mobile, social_short, social_long, etc.)
- Table: tbl_ (e.g. tbl_top-blogs, tbl_featured, tbl_ig-feed, etc.)
- Products: prod_ (e.g. prod_popular, prod_new-arrivals, prod_t-shirts, etc.)
- Horizontal Rule: hr_ (e.g. hr_thick, hr_thin, hr_white, hr_black, etc.)
- Spacer: spacer_ (spacer_20, spacer_50, etc.)
- Drop Shadow: ds_(ds_grey, ds_blue, etc.)
Using the Saved Blocks
To reuse the saved block in any template, take the “Saved” block from Klaviyo’s email template builder, and place it where you want the block to appear.
A pop-up will appear where you can choose which of the saved block you want to use.
Find the block you want to use, and click on the “Insert Block” button. If you used the conventions that we recommend, they will be grouped by the block types and in alphabetical order.
Managing and Deleting the Saved Blocks
In some cases, you want to delete or see your entire list of Saved Blocks. Perhaps you want to delete an old block because you made a new or better version one. You can find and manage your saved blocks if you click on the “View Saved Blocks” button in the “Email Templates” section.
From here, you can see the names of the blocks and you can delete unnecessary blocks.