How to Add and Remove Users From Klaviyo

Joseph Hsieh

November 15, 2019

How to Add and Remove Users From Klaviyo

Reference: User Management and Privileges

If you’re starting with Klaviyo there’s a good chance you already have a team of people that are helping you with all aspects of marketing. Even if you’re a solo entrepreneur, as your grow you’ll likely need to add more people in your team to help you with Klaviyo. Although adding Users in Klaviyo is simple, it’s a good idea to consider the amount of access the User need to perform their job efficiently.

Understanding User Roles

To make role management easy, Klaviyo grouped various access levels to the type of users that may need to log into Klaviyo. Currently, there are 6 different user roles that you can assign to your new team members, each with different levels of access:

  • Owner
  • Admin
  • Manager
  • Analyst
  • Campaign Coordinator
  • Content Creator

Owner, Admins, and Managers

All three user roles have very similar access. They all can see the Revenue produced by your Campaigns and Flows, they can edit content, create/edit Flows, send Campaigns and much more.

There can be only one Owner and by default that’s the person who creates the account. Only the Owner have permissions to close Klaviyo account.

A user with Admin role in your Klaviyo Account have full access to all Klaviyo features. They can do everything what Owner can, with the exception of closing the account. Admins are usually assigned to trusted people within your organization who need full access to Klaviyo and are responsible for provisioning access to Klaviyo to others in your team, or to download your customer list for other purposes in your business.

Assigning the Manager role will restrict the user even further. While the Manager have access to all key features of your account, he cannot export your email lists or invite new team members to Klaviyo. Managers are typically assigned to people internally who require all the features of Klaviyo, but require approval to export your list. If you work with an agency’s account manager or a trusted freelancer who need broad access to Klaviyo, this would be the recommended access level.

Analyst, Content Creators, Campaign Coordinator

The other three user roles have a more specific restrictions to certain sections of your Klaviyo Account that different types of users may only need limited access to perform their job.

After you’ve sent enough Campaigns and your basic Flows are live for some time, you may want to delegate a User to help you review the analytics and reports, create new dashboard analytics, or stay on top of the numbers.  An Analyst can see all the data, but they can’t edit any Campaigns, Flows, Sign Up Forms, or Templates within Klaviyo. People responsible for reporting, accounting, financials, analysts, or data science are the typical types of users who this access.

If you have creative folks whose sole responsibility is to create templates, upload new images, edit or modify the copy in your email messages, you may want to designate them as a Content Creator. Content Creators are restricted from changing any Flow settings or sending or scheduling Campaigns. They can create Email Templates and load them into the Flows or Campaigns that have already been setup. This role is usually assigned to writers and designers both internally or if you work with external partners whose focus is only on the layout, design and messaging of your emails. Graphic designers, copywriters, user experience specialists, brand managers, or other creative talents are the typical people who have this level of access.

Finally, if you have someone whose main responsibility is to schedule and coordinate email campaigns, launch or stop signup forms, or organize the campaign details then you may want to designate them as a Campaign Coordinator. Campaign Coordinator can plan and schedule your campaigns and send them to the appropriate segments. This user has access to create Campaigns, Coupon Codes, Email Templates, Signup Forms. Campaign Coordinator, as the name implies, are provisioned to users on your team who are responsible for the day to day scheduling of your marketing or product calendar, logistics, or project management.

Klaviyo Access by Roles

""

Klaviyo Flow Access by Roles

Adding, Managing and Removing Users

Now that we explained why each user role is important to your team and what is the different level of access for each of them, here are the step by step instructions on how to add, manage and remove users from your Klaviyo Account.

How to Add a new User to Klaviyo Account

Click on the top right corner of your Klaviyo Account and choose “Account”

Click on the top right corner of your Klaviyo Account and choose “Account”
Click on the top right corner of your Klaviyo Account and choose “Account”

Click on “Settings” and choose “Users”

Click on “Settings” and choose “Users”
Click on “Settings” and choose “Users”

Click on the button “Add New User”

Click on the button “Add New User”
Click on the button “Add New User”

Insert the email of the new user you want to add, select his role from the dropdown menu and click “Add User”

Insert the email of the new user you want to add, select his role from the dropdown menu and click “Add User”
Insert the email of the new user you want to add, select his role from the dropdown menu and click “Add User”

After this the new User will receive invitation email.

User will receive invitation email
User will receive invitation email

In that Email he should click on the “Account Setup” link that will redirect him to Klaviyo page where he can create his unique login.

In that Email he should click on the “Account Setup” link that will redirect him to Klaviyo page where he can create his unique login.

After setting the Name and Password for the new account, they can login using his Email and the password he just created.

How to Update Role of existing User

To change the role of existing user navigate to Account > Settings > Users.

Click on the user you want to update.

Click on the user you want to update.
Click on the user you want to update.

Pop-up will appear with basic info about the user. From the dropdown menu, select new role and click “Update”.

From the dropdown menu, select new role and click “Update”.
From the dropdown menu, select new role and click “Update”.

How to Remove User

To remove user from your Klaviyo account navigate to Account > Settings > Users.

On the right side of the User you want to delete there is an X sign.

On the right side of the User you want to delete there is an X sign.
On the right side of the User you want to delete there is an X sign.

Click on the “X” sign and from the Pop Up click “Delete User”

How to Resend Password to a User

If your user cannot find their invitation email to Klaviyo, and they didn’t already created their account, you’ll see a “Pending invite” status by their email in the Users section. In that case you can click on the “Resend Invites” to resend the invite from Klaviyo. Ask your user to check for an email from “klaviyo.com” and follow the process to create their account if they don’t already have one.

Click on the “Resend Invites” to resend the invite from Klaviyo
Click on the “Resend Invites” to resend the invite from Klaviyo

If your user lost or forgot their password, there isn’t a way for you to access or resend their password from the admin interface. Check to make sure the User and their proper email address is in the Users settings, and then go to the “Forgot Password” page here:

https://www.klaviyo.com/account/password-reset

Enter in their email address and Klaviyo will send them an email to reset their password.

Recent Posts

How to Disable or Enable the Double Opt-in Process in Klaviyo

What is "Double Opt-in" and how to disable it in Klaviyo.

How to A/B Test the Sending Time of Campaigns in Klaviyo

Learn how to A/B test the sending time of campaigns in Klaviyo.

How to A/B Test Subject Line and Content in Campaign Emails in Klaviyo

Learn how to A/B test your campaigns in Klaviyo.